C86 Show - Indie Pop

The Flowers of Hell - Greg Jarvis

August 7, 2022

Greg Jarvis  - The Flowers of Hell - in conversation with David Eastaugh

The Flowers of Hell are a transatlantic experimental orchestra made up of a revolving line-up of 16 or so independent musicians based in Toronto and London. Their mostly instrumental sound builds bridges between classical music and post-rock, shoegaze, space rock and drone music, often resulting in their being described as an orchestral extension of the work of The Velvet Underground and Spacemen 3. They are led by synesthete composer Greg Jarvis. Much of their repertoire is an exploration of the timbre-to-shape synesthesia that causes Jarvis to involuntarily perceive all sounds as floating abstract visual forms.

Podbean App

Play this podcast on Podbean App