C86 Show - Indie Pop

Mark Stewart - The Pop Group - Part One

October 14, 2021


The Pop Group are an English band formed in Bristol in 1977 by vocalist Mark Stewart, guitarist John Waddington, bassist Simon Underwood, guitarist/saxophonist Gareth Sager, and drummer Bruce Smith.[5] Their work in the late 1970s crossed diverse musical influences including dub, funk, and free jazz with radical politics, helping to pioneer post-punk music.

The Pop Group and dub maestro Dennis ‘Blackbeard’ Bovell MBE have shared a new track from their forthcoming dub version of The Pop Group’s debut album, Y, one of the era-defining releases of the post-punk period. This new track gives another taste of what to expect from this clash of the titan’s forthcoming release, Y in Dub, out on 29 October 2021 on Mute.

Podbean App

Play this podcast on Podbean App