C86 Show - Indie Pop

Breathless with Ari Neufeld

May 27, 2021

Breathless with Ari Neufeld in conversation with David Eastaugh

Breathless are an English dream pop band formed in 1983 by Dominic Appleton (vocals, keyboards), Gary Mundy (guitar), Ari Neufeld (bass) and Tristram Latimer Sayer (drums).[1] Across nearly four decades, Breathless have released seven studio albums, one compilation album and 13 singles and EPs,[2][3] all on their own label, Tenor Vossa Records.

Their music has been described as "melancholic", with AllMusic's Ned Raggett calling the band "underappreciated" and saying "the majority of Breathless' work has squarely fit into a lush vein of haunting, epic music unafraid of a moody theatricality".

Appleton is also known for his vocal contributions in 4AD supergroup This Mortal Coil, appearing on three tracks on their 1986 album Filigree & Shadow, and one track on their 1991 album Blood.

Podbean App

Play this podcast on Podbean App